Saturday, June 20, 2015

A Heart's Betrayal


Emmie finds shelter in the arms of a soldier, but her secret could drive them apart.

When Emmie Croftner answered the door to her late husband's home, she discovered a terrible truth. A woman she's never met reveals that she and Emmie shared the same husband and that the bigamist had never divorced his first wife. The home and farm are not Emmie's property after all.

Suddenly displaced and powerless, Emmie realizes she can't stay in Wabash, Indiana, any longer. She makes for Fort Laramie, Wyoming, where her friend Sarah Montgomery and a new beginning await her. But when she arrives, she discovers she's carrying a child, conceived before her husband's death. Was the new start she'd hoped for only a mirage?

At Fort Laramie, a soldier named Isaac Liddle begins to court Emmie, prompting her to wonder whether she could ever really be his--and whether she dares to tell him she is carrying another man's baby.

My Review:

This is the fourth in a six-part serial style release. Journey of the Heart is a reissue of the author's first series, now out of print. Because it wouldn't make sense to read only one book, I'm waiting until the entire series is published (August) when I will do a giveaway of all six books.

While I love Coble's writing, I'm not a fan of this serialization model. It's like I'm being given tantalizing snippets and then forced to wait a whole month before I can have another taste. Talk about an author keeping the reader wanting more!

A Heart's Betrayal's heroine is Emmie Croftner, sister to the nefarious series villain, Ben Croftner. Thankfully, Emmie isn't anything like her brother and when dire circumstances conspire against her she goes West where she meets up with Rand and Sarah (hero and heroine of the first three novellas.)  There's action and drama aplenty and the first stirrings of romance. But be forewarned -- there's also a cliff hanger ending that will leave a reader dangling breathlessly for a whole month! 

My thanks to Thomas Nelson and Litfuse Publicity Group for providing me with a review copy of this book.

While I'm not doing a giveaway, the author is. Details below:

Melt into summer with a new giveaway from Colleen: four books (books one–four in Colleen's A Journey of the Heart series) and a box of chocolates to pair with your new books!


One grand prize winner will receive:

  • A copy of A Heart's Betrayal

  • A box of Colleen's favorite chocolate truffles from DeBrand Fine Chocolates

  • A copy of A Heart's Disguise

  • A copy of A Heart's Obsession

  • A copy of A Heart's Danger

  • Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on June 30th. Winner will be announced July 1st on Colleen's website



  1. Replies
    1. And, honestly, it should be read one book after the other. Each book is only about 95 pages long. You'll have to enter the draw in August, Nicole.

    2. Sounds good, thanks! I look forward to reading this, however I can get my hands on a copy!