Tuesday, May 17, 2016

A Bride of a Distant Isle

GIVEAWAY

BYRD, SANDRA
BRIDE OF A DISTANT ISLE

Miss Annabel Ashton is a teacher at the Rogers Day School for Young Ladies in Winchester when she makes a brief visit to her family home, Highcliffe Hall, at Milford on Sea. She believes her stay will be short but soon learns that she will not be returning to the safety of the school. Instead, she remains at Highcliffe, at the mercy of her cousin, Edward Everedge.

Annabel protests, but as the illegitimate daughter of a woman who died in an insane asylum she has little say. Edward is running out of money and puts the house up for sale to avoid financial ruin. He insists that Annabel marry, promising her to a sinister, frightening man. But as the house is readied for sale, disquieting secrets are revealed. Jewelry, artifacts, and portraits mysteriously appear, suggesting that Annabel may be the true heir of Highcliffe.

She has only a few months to prove her legitimacy, perhaps with assistance from the handsome but troubled Maltese Captain Dell'Acqua. But does he have Annabel's best interests at heart?

Will Annabel regain her life and property -- and trust her heart -- before it's too late?

My Review:

I'm basking in the warm glow of Gothic Romance Reader Bliss right now. I've mentioned before how much I adore this genre, right? Ever since junior high when I discovered Victoria Holt. And good Gothics are few and far between in the Christian market. So you can just imagine the sweet ecstasy I've been in since I first opened this book.

Each page is steeped in mystery. Deliciously thrilling plot twists, sinister foreshadowing, and a bevy of intriguing characters who run the gamut from bad to good. And it's up to Annabel to figure out where their loyalties lie.

I adore Annabel. She refuses to allow herself to be defined by her circumstances. As a woman, she has little say in her future but that doesn't stop her from digging in her heels and engaging in her own game of subterfuge. Her faith is the beacon of hope that sees her through the most trying of times. I loved her dedication, her desire to seek divine counsel and her strength to stand for what she believes to be true. Very inspiring.

 And now it's time for me to wax poetic over the Maltese captain. A swoonworthy hero with his own agenda. Even though Annabel can't be certain whether he is friend or foe, she can't resist his charm...and either could I. Oh goodness, but you'll need a fan for this read. Or maybe just stick your feet in the freezer periodically. This captain exudes toe-curling masculinity at every turn of the page. Be. Still. My. Heart.

 Sinister tension builds as the story progresses. Who is for Annabel? Who is against her? And who will emerge triumphant at the end? With all that page-turning intrigue, Byrd held me captive right up to the very last page. .

 GIVEAWAY OPPORTUNITY:

If you would like an opportunity to win a copy of  A Bride of a Distant Isle please leave a comment below or email me at kavluvstoreadATyahooDOTca. If you post a comment and add your email address, please use AT and DOT instead of @ and . in the address to protect yourself from spammers. If you enter the draw via email please remember to put the title in the subject line so that it's easy for me to spot your entry. Draw will be held and winner announced on Sunday May 22 2016. Offer open to international readers. Good luck!

44 comments:

  1. Oh my! Sounds fabulous!
    lattebooksAThotmailDOTcom

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really, really, really is. Good luck, Susan.

      Delete
  2. You make this book sound wonderful! Hoping for a win!!
    kathrynlvossATgmailDOTcom

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's because it is!!!!Good luck, Kate.

      Delete
  3. Bride of a Distant Isle sounds so good, add me please!
    worthy2bpraised at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're added, Merry. Good luck.

      Delete
  4. I think I've read Pride of the Peacock by Victoria Holt five times. I would love to read a christian gothic romance! Thanks for pointing this one out!

    rachaeldalquist AT yahoo DOT com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's so delicious. Really. Good luck, Rachael.

      Delete
  5. I loved the first book in this series so I'm glad the second one is just as wonderful. Thanks for the giveaway!
    garfsgirl AT hotmail DOT com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It definitely is. Good luck, Lis.

      Delete
  6. I love the mystery of the book!
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's so well done. Good luck, rubynreba.

      Delete
  7. New author added her to my TBR list. cheetahthecat1986ATgmailDOTcom.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Love your review of this one, Kav. A swoon worthy hero indeed. I can't wait to start reading this one.

    Cnnamongirl at aol dot com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Deanne. It's an awesome read. Good luck.

      Delete
  9. Your review certainly makes me want to read this one. Thanks, Kav!

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  10. When this book came out, I immediately put it on TBR list. Now with your review, I am swooning to read it! You have such a way with words, Kav. Your words draw a thousand pictures. Thank you!
    ~Alison

    nj(dot)bossman(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LOL -- I'm still tizzy over this one. Glad I could increase your anticipation. Good luck, Alison.

      Delete
  11. Yay!! I've been looking forward to reading this book! And this review makes me 10x more excited!
    J.C. -Indiana-

    ReplyDelete
  12. I love gothic fiction and Jane Eyre. Another favorite is Rebecca.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There's something so satisfying about this genre, isn't there? Good luck, Dawn.

      Delete
  13. I agree that this is a terrific book. It's quite suspenseful, yet romantic, in the tradition of Victoria Holt and Daphne DuMaurier. I enjoyed it very much. No need to enter me to win this one, since I already have it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh -- we should start a fan club!!!! Thanks for stopping by and sharing your feelings about this book as well.

      Delete
  14. Replies
    1. I take it that means you have read it and loved it? LOL

      Delete
  15. How excited I am to read a Gothic romance again! There are many Victoria Holt novels still on my bookshelves. Keep thinking I'll read them again some day. Thanks for the awesome review.
    pwestfall7 at hotmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I should check and see if the library has any Victoria Holt. Good luck, Pam.

      Delete
  16. I am so looking forward to reading this book. Thanks for the giveaway and good luck everyone.
    princessdebbie1_2000ATyahooDOTcom

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're welcome, Debbie. Good luck.

      Delete
  17. Great review Kav, isn't Sandra's writing exquisite? This one didn't disappoint, I enjoyed it just as much, if not more, than "Mist of Midnight". And a certain Captain made me want to learn more of Maltese, perhaps he'd be willing to be a tour guide?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Trixi. And yes, I even googled Malta and did a little research -- such gorgeous scenery!!!!!! We could both travel across the sea in search of just such a tour guide. LOL

      Delete
  18. Thank you so much for this lovely review! I so appreciate you!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're welcome, Sandra. I loved it to pieces! Thanks for stopping by.

      Delete
  19. Sounds great! I'm not familiar with Sandra's writing...

    pattymh2000(at)yahoo(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's exquisite. Good luck, Patty.

      Delete
  20. Loved the first book. Would love to win this one. : )

    Thanks for the giveaway Kav!

    sunshine6892 at hotmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're welcome, Cathy. Good luck.

      Delete
  21. Now this is one I would definitely love to read! I fell for the Gothic-type fiction with secular author Mary Stewart's novels and have gobbled up any by Christian authors that I can find.

    Blessings!
    Jasmine
    montanamade(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, yes, Mary Stewart is another good one. Good luck, Jasmine.

      Delete
  22. Gothic romance always makes a good book!
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

    ReplyDelete