Thursday, September 13, 2012

Taming the Wind


A young widow nursing the wounds of her past...
A cowboy with demons of his own...

Though grateful for the blessing of her daughter, Carissa Lowe has accepted that widowhood is her lot in life. Bound by fear and mistrust, she feels incapable of opening her heart again.

Tyler Atherton has never forgotten Carissa. When he discovers she's living with her sister on a nearby ranch, his life becomes intertwined with the lovely widow's. And Carissa's daughter, Gloria, seems determined to wrap herself around his little finger. But while Tyler longs to provide a home and future for Carissa, he is haunted by an obligation he feels unable to fulfill.

Challenged by mounting hardships, can Carissa and Tyler preserve their fledgling love in a land as unforgiving and vibrant as the people who call it home?

My Review:

Awesome ending to the Land of the Lone Star series! Peterson meshes the storylines of the previous characters into a grand finale that's a real page-turner. But don't despair if you haven't read the first two books. Taming the Wind reads very well as a standalone. Fans of Hannah and William and Brandon and Laura will enjoy meeting up with them again though.

This is Carissa's story and it's her chance at redemption. She wasn't one of my favourite characters in the series - a very spoiled young miss with willful and conniving ways. But she's grown up some since our last encounter and I found her easy to relate to as the heroine of her own book. 

This is very much a tribute to the women who settled the west. Courage and determination don't begin to cover it. Taming the Wind makes a fascinating read just for the historical information, but combined with the Peterson's heart-stopping plot twists, it becomes a not-to-be-missed book for your TBR shelf.

Giveaway Opportunity:

If you would like an opportunity to win a copy of Taming the Wind, please leave a comment below or email me at kavluvstoreadATyahooDOTca. If you post a comment and add your email address, please use AT and DOT instead of @ and . in the address to protect yourself from spammers. If you enter the draw via email please remember to put the title in the subject line so that it's easy for me to spot your entry. Draw will be held and winner announced on Sunday September 16 2012. Offer open to international readers. Good luck!


  1. "Taming the Wind" has intrigued me from the moment I saw it! Thank you for the opportunity to win it!

    Amada (pronounced:


    Acts 16:31 (Read it, Believe it, and Be Saved!!!)

  2. You're welcome, Amatha. Good luck!

  3. I would love to win this one, and have had my eye on the first two in this series as well--for awhile now. Love Tracie's writing!


  4. I have one in this series, would love to add to that so I can read them all in order!


  5. I have many of Tracie's books on my shelves, she writes wonderful historical stories. Please add me for Taming the Wind. Thanks, Kav!
    worthy2bpraised at gmail dot com

  6. Good luck Diana, Patty and Merry. Wish I could give everyone a copy! We'll have to leave it up to fate though until I become a millionaire. :-)

  7. I really enjoy Tracie's books - I have not read one I did not like! This one sounds good and the setting I love. Please add my name to your drawing and thank you for the opportunity!


  8. And she's so versatile too! I mean she writes it all -- contemporary, historical, western. The woman is a genuis!

  9. i love Tracie Peterson novels, as does my Mom. i would love to win this one for her.


  10. I love Tracie's books and I thank you for a chance to win a copy. God bless you.

    Glenda Parker

  11. Good luck Dana, Glenda and Marianne.

  12. thanks for the chance to read this story, kav

    kmkuka at yahoo dot com

  13. Please enter my name in the drawing. I read almost everything that Tracie writes but have not read this one yet. She is an amazing writer. Thank you for the opportunity and Blessings today!!


  14. I love Tracie's writing and would love to win! Thanks

  15. I treasure my books by Tracie Peterson and would love to win Taming The Wind.

    gka444 (at) gmail (dot) com

  16. Would love to win, I love tracie's books.

  17. Thanks for another great review. Please enter me Thanks.

    sweetdarknectar at gmail dot com

  18. Hi, This seems to be an inviting read and I'd enjoy doing so. Thanks for this giveaway and the chance to win a great read.

    Blessed by Grace,
    Barb Shelton
    barbjan10 at tx dot rr dot com

  19. Love to read this!

  20. Love everything about this book - romance, a child, the west, history. I don't have any of Tracie's books & would love to read this one!

    Thanks for the giveaway opportunity!